Skip to content

Shed the jacket. Change the station.

About 30 seconds after I started jogging this morning, the wind shifted, picked up and rain started falling sideways into me. I felt it mostly on my chest and the top of my head, fittingly, the places under which are my heart and my mind. It seemed cold and uncomfortable. Or maybe not.

My mind immediately said “stop, go back, get a jacket.” And went on to say “you’ve had no breakfast, you’ll have no energy, it can wait till tomorrow.” But my heart said – “been here before, it’s all an illusion – the discomfort, the pain, the unpreparedness – just go.” Then added: “you’ve had coffee, that’s all you need!” So I went. As I rounded the next bend, I didn’t feel the rain anymore or the wind. I had a good jog, and noticed lots of things I hadn’t seen before. It felt good. Not really difficult.

The universe has a radio station called: “excuses, avoidance and weakness.” The signal can be very strong. It’s so easy for our minds to naturally find and tune in to that station. But we can change the station, we can even block the signal. We just have to recognize when the dial gets stuck or if it’s become the default station. So reset the presets. Let your heart pick the frequency. Shed the jacket. Just go.

 

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. kkkate #

    love it! Good to hear from you Pete. Hope all is well in Marion. Must be pretty there.

    Like

    May 2, 2017
  2. Mink #

    “Been here before, its all an illusion.” Worthwhile meditation..

    Reminds me of the background chorus in CSNY “deja vu,”
    “We have all been here before.”

    If you choose Einstein over Newton we see this theme on the broader continuum.

    As Ram Das said “be here now.”
    As you said, “just go.”

    Nice piece.

    Like

    May 2, 2017
  3. izzy #

    This is great Uncle Pete!! Much love.

    Like

    May 2, 2017
  4. Dana Markos #

    Excellent and inspiring, thank you!!

    Like

    May 2, 2017
  5. LOVE this Pete!!! Hope you’re well & THANK YOU for the reminder ; ) xo

    Like

    May 2, 2017
  6. Diane Fox #

    Love everything about this …. we’ve all been here before!

    Like

    May 3, 2017

Leave a Reply

